Fight your own battles

well

Once upon a time in India there lived a king among frogs named Gangadatta. He ruled over a group of frogs that lived in a well.

One day, Gangadatta left his kingdom. He was fed up of his relatives pestering him over small things and decided to take revenge on everyone who constantly tormented him.

Just as he came out of his well he saw a cobra entering a hole, he immediately decided of having all his relatives, which pestered him, eaten by the cobra.

He went to the entrance of the hole, and said. “My friend, I have come here to make friendship with you. I am Gangadatta, the king of frogs.”

Hearing the voice the cobra immediately realised that this is not his kith or kin, but his natural enemy. Hence he decided not to leave the hole, since he suspected this to be some kind of a vicious plan to catch and then kill him.

“We are no friends, we are natural enemies. Why are you talking all this nonsense? Timber and fire can never be friends.” The cobra said.

“You are absolutely correct. But I seek revenge on everyone who tormented me, compelling me to leave my very own kingdom. I can lead you to the well where my kingdom was, and you can eat as many frogs as you want.”

“But a well is built by layers of stone and I have no legs. How can I possibly get into the well? And even if I manage to do so, where will I be able to sit and eat the frogs? Go away!”

“There is a nice comfortable hole at the edge of the water, where you can sit and eat as many frogs as you like. I will lead you to the inside of the well, and to the comfortable hole. But promise me that you will eat only my annoying relatives and not my friends.”

“I am old and this offer looks too good to be turned down.” The cobra thought.

The cobra agreed to the friendship and followed the frog. He went into the hole as promised. Once there, he would eat one frog whenever he would feel hungry. As days went by, the number of frogs went down and finally all the frogs that tormented Gangadatta were dead.

“All the frogs that pestered you and compelled you to leave the kingdom are dead, now only your friends remain. Please give me some more food. You are a good friend of mine, and since you lead me here it is your responsibility to keep me well fed.” The cobra said.

frog

Gangadatta realised his mistake but was afraid that the cobra would eat him, hence he told him to start eating the remaining frogs in well too. Gangadatta saw all his close friends eaten. Soon there were no frogs left in the well, and the cobra wanted more frogs.

“If you let me leave the well, I will bring you more frogs from the neighbouring wells. So you will be able to satisfy your hunger.” Gangadatta told the cobra.

The cobra let him go. But even after his anxious wait for several days, Gangadatta did not return.

Finally the cobra requested a lizard that lived in the walls of the well. “Please ask Gangadatta to return back. I cannot bear the separation of my dear friend.”

The lizard conveyed the message to Gangadatta who replied. “I will never return to the well again. He is starving, and a starving person can go to any extent to fulfil his needs.”

Thus Gangadatta saved his life, and the cobra had to perish inside the well without any food.

The moral is: Fight your own battles; else you will surely be destroyed.

6 thoughts on “Fight your own battles

      • There are always different voices needed to tell the world’s stories. In many ways, my experiences are just replays of the world’s stories that stretch back in time…”nothing new under the sun”…Keep telling yours! We all need to be reminded. Storytelling is an art and a great gift, no matter whose story you are telling!😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

